Sharing templates with colleagues allows you to:
- Help colleagues save time when creating plans.
- Work more collaboratively to see what your colleagues are including in their plans.
- Copy the link to a colleague's public protocol to share it with patients.
- Preserve plans that you’ve created, and allow your staff to access them to improve your shared workflow.
Clerks and staff have access to templates for creating plans for individual patients, but can’t create or share new templates.
Sharing templates with colleagues
To share a template with the other providers in your dispensary:
- Click My tools in the navigation bar.

- Click Templates.
- Select the template you’d like to share.
- Click the Modify access tab.

- Choose to share the template with all staff in the dispensary, or with specific staff.
To share the template with specific staff only, use the search bar to find and select their names.
- Once you’ve set your desired access, click Save.

Providers who’d like to modify a template will have a copy of that template generated that they can save under a different name. The original template can only be changed by its author.
Creating copies of peer-authored templates
To create a new version of an existing template, make a copy using the plan tool. Only the template author can edit the original.
You don’t need to copy a template created by another staff member to share it with patients. If you have access, you can use it for individual or multiple patients.
To create a new template from an existing one:
- Click My tools in the navigation bar.
- Click Templates.
- Select the template you’d like to modify.
- Click Add to plan.

- Click Review draft.
- Make any modifications you’d like, including adding additional products, adding resource, or adding labs.
- Once you’ve finished your modifications, click the edit button.

- Click Edit.

- When the patient list appears in the drawer, click Back to Select options.

- Click Create as template.

- Choose if you’d like to share this template with Specific staff, All staff, or Only you.
If you choose Specific staff, you’ll need to select the specific staff accounts you’d like to share the template with.
- Add a template name.
- When you’re ready, click Save template.

Plans you’ve shared with colleagues will appear in the My dispensary section of the Templates page.

A plan shared by a colleague on the Templates page.
Editing peer-authored templates
It’s not possible to edit an existing template that was created by a peer or colleague. You can copy a template to make changes, but changes will only affect your version. See the Creating copies of peer-authored templates section above for more information.