In this article:
To prioritize the protection and security of health data as well as patient privacy, practitioners are unable to permanently delete patients from their dispensary. Though you can't delete accounts, you do have the ability to block patients from logging in, viewing their treatment plans, and placing orders.
Note: The Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) and Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documents Act of Canada (PIPEDA) require us to store patient health data including treatment plans in Fullscript.
When a patient is blocked, they will no longer be able to sign in to your dispensary to view treatment plans or place orders. This can be used if you're no longer seeing patients, they've requested to be removed from your dispensary, or if you don't recognize patients who sign up from your website on their own (from a Fullscript website button) and want to block ordering you're not comfortable with.
To block a patient:
- In the Patients tab, search and select the patient's profile.
- Click Edit profile.
- Click Block patient.
- Confirm by clicking Yes, update and block patient.
Blocking a patient account from a dispensary.
Note: Blocking patients will prevent them from accessing the dispensary, including existing treatment plans and order history. Granted, these patients can request information from their previous orders by reaching out to our Customer Success team.
When a patient has been blocked, the action can be reversed to unblock them and restore access to the dispensary.
To unblock a patient:
In the Patients tab, click Filters and select Show blocked patients.
- Select the patient's profile.
- Click Edit profile.
- Click Unblock patient.
Patients can't be deleted, and we recommend blocking them to prevent access to a dispensary. But, if a patient requests that their account be deactivated, the practitioner or patient can contact our Customer Success team, who can deactivate the email address on the account as long as the patient has never logged into the dispensary.
Tip! You can identify patient profiles who've never signed in from the insights page.